FAD Magazine

FAD Magazine is a daily news website covering: Fashion, Art and Design.

51 Art Highlights from 2016: Part One

It’s not news that 2016 was a turbulent year, but it was also a very creative year, so we asked the FAD team to pick some of their brightest art moments of 2016. Over the next four posts we bring you their answers; some are short, some are long but all are interesting, and in a very FAD way…

Jules de Balincourt- Stumbling Pioneers at Victoria Miro Installation view
Jules de Balincourt- Stumbling Pioneers at Victoria Miro Installation view

1 A Beautiful Disorder at Cass Sculpture Foundation  www.sculpture.org.uk
2 Alex Katz Quick Light at Serpentine Gallery www.serpentinegalleries.org
3 Jules de Balincourt- Stumbling Pioneers at Victoria Miro  www.victoria-miro.com
4 and if it’s not too old-skool… Paul Nash @ Tate Britain www.tate.org.uk

Chosen by Herbert Wright 


James Coleman at Marian Goodman Installation view

5 Without a doubt the Abstract Expressionism show in the Royal Academy www.royalacademy.org.uk
6 Also James Coleman at Marian Goodman www.mariangoodman.com

Chosen by Lorenzo Belenguer 

Walhalla 1992-2016 Lead, photograph on lead and mixed media Dimensions variable Photo: White Cube (Ben Westoby)
Walhalla 1992-2016 Lead, photograph on lead and mixed media Dimensions variable Photo: White Cube (Ben Westoby)

7 Anselm Kiefer at White Cube : Dark and brooding  whitecube.com

Chosen by Ben Austin

8 This is a voice at the Wellcome Collection wellcomecollection.org
9 Electronic Superhighway at Whitechapel Gallery www.whitechapelgallery.org
10 Performing for the camera at Tate Modern www.tate.org.uk

Chosen by Jess Bunyard

Neo Rauch Rondo David Zwirner
Neo Rauch Rondo Installation View

Three very interesting artists I’ve liked abroad had their first – impressive – London solo shows:
11 Levi van Veluw (at Rosenfeld Porcini) rosenfeldporcini.com
12 Donna Huanca (at the Zabludowicz Collection) www.zabludowiczcollection.com
13 and, a little surprisingly considering his fame, Neo Rauch (at David Zwirner). www.davidzwirner.com
14 Touching on the less favourable aspects of the year, I enjoyed curating the pro-EU spirit of Secret European Studio (at ARTHOUSE1). www.arthouse1.co.uk

Chosen by Paul Carey Kent 

Categories

Tags

Related Posts

Michael Clark: Cosmic Dancer Install shot © Mark Westall

Michael Clark: Cosmic Dancer

Michael Clark: Cosmic Dancer is a multi-faceted portrait of the groundbreaking dancer and choreographer told by and through the eyes of the creative voices and faces the artist has collaborated with since he launched Michael Clark & Company, aged only 22, in 1984.

Michael Clark in Charles Atlas’s Hail the New Puritan, 1986 Still, 16mm film transferred to video, sound, duration: 84:54 minutes. © Charles Atlas, courtesy the artist and Luhring Augustine, New York

Michael Clark: Cosmic Dancer

This October, Barbican Art Gallery stages the first ever major exhibition on the groundbreaking dancer and choreographer Michael Clark. Exploring his unique combination of classical and contemporary culture

FAD magazine Migrate Art_Scorched Earth_Anish Kapoor_

Migrate Art announces ‘Scorched Earth’

Migrate Art presents ‘Scorched Earth’ a charity auction and exhibition of new works by leading artists, organised in direct response to the widespread deliberate destruction of crop fields in Iraq. The participating artists have created new works using paint pigmented with ash collected by Migrate Art from land scorched by these fires.

Trending Articles

Submit Your Work

Submit your work to be featured on FAD