FAD Magazine

FAD Magazine covers contemporary art – News, Exhibitions and Interviews reported on from London


Skyhound (Red Bull Canimation) from Chloe Rodham on Vimeo.

Over the past two weeks, the public have had their say about the hundreds of student, professional and hobbyist animators who took inspiration from the Red Bull can and submitted entries to RED BULL CANIMATION – a new nationwide competition which launched this October.

The creative contest offers budding animators an opportunity to progress their skills and careers in the field, through a series of prizes including: internships at top animation studios Aardman, The Mill & 12foot6, state of the art animation software and a chance to be featured on Channel Four as well as in cinemas nationwide.

Participants entered their films in the three specialist categories of CGI, Drawn and Stop Motion animation and over the past fortnight the public’s interaction with their work has helped bring sixty of the most inspiring rising talents a step closer to success. Rather than a traditional voting process, each entry interaction, whether it be a comment, Vimeo ‘like’, view or share was taken into consideration and Red Bull are now very pleased to announce the resulting Canimation short list.

CGI: Alice De Barrau, Andras Ormos, Antony Manley, Damien Tansey, Daniel Sweeney, Inês Boneca, James Hood, Jason Redway, Jon Ireland, Manu Tomar, Matthew King, Max Taylor, Michele Svaeren. Paul Barlow, Radoslaw Andrzejak, Raoul Quiroga, Scott Burrows, Scott Waddington, Suryanshu Rai, Ton Stanton

DRAWN: Andy Craggs, Bryony James, Chloe Rodham, Damian Tasker, Dean Wright, Deni Santana, Heidi Brown, James Marsh, Joanne Ruskin, Kara Darch, Kat Willott, Kensei Thomas, Latifah Salim, Mark Moynihan, Matthew Box, Matthew Frost, Nadia Hussein, Rebecca Mountain, Robert Johnson
STOP MOTION: Alex Hancocks, Anna Glogowska, Ben Hennessey, Bexie Bush, Chris Butcher, David Burnett, Don Mupasi, Drew Roper, Emily Parker, Georgina Dunn, Hannah Wright, Hayley Kyte, Lee Wignall, Mark Turner, Max Martin, Sam Osborne, Sarah Jones, Stuart Collis, Tom Crang, Tom Erik Smith, Victoria Edmonds

Final selection of the winners by the project’s panel of esteemed animation experts: James Farrington (The Mill), Merlin Crossingham (Aardman Animations), Dave Anderson (12foot6), Jayne Pilling (British Animation Awards), Tom Tagholm (4Creative) now begins. Of the quality of submissions judge Merlin Crossingham commented: “The standard of animation in the Red Bull Canimation competition has been very high across the board. Regardless of the relative experience of each entry, I appreciate that a lot of time and energy goes into animation of any style, so thanks to everyone who submitted a film, and well done to the short listed film makers. Judging is not going to be easy.”
The winners will be announced at the Red Bull Canimation Awards Ceremony at Empire, Leicester Square in London’s West End on 15 December 2011, which will be hosted by film critic Alex Zane.




Related Posts

Trending Articles

Join the FAD newsletter and get the latest news and articles straight to your inbox

* indicates required