6 must-see art exhibitions on right now – selected by GalleriesNow


GalleriesNow is the world’s leading gallery guide, with everything you need to know about great art wherever you are

London Alfredo Jaar: 25 Years Later Goodman Gallery www.galleriesnow.net/shows/alfredo-jaar-25-years-later/

Courtesy the artist and Goodman Gallery

with VR views! – ends this Saturday – the UK debut of this seminal series on the 1994 Rwandan Genocide which has been exhibited around the world from Finland to Brazil. “Jaar’s work represents one of the most developed commitments by a contemporary artist in the blatant embrace of the structural link between ethics and aesthetics, art and politics” – Okwui Enwezor

Paris Georg Baselitz: Time Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac galleriesnow.net/shows/georg-baselitz-time/

© Georg Baselitz. Courtesy Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac. Photo: Charles Duprat

with VR views! – a monumental exhibition of new, large-scale paintings by Baselitz in homage to his wife Elke

New York Mike Kelley. Timeless Painting Hauser & Wirth galleriesnow.net/shows/mike-kelley-2/

© Mike Kelley Foundation for the Arts. All Rights Reserved/VAGA at ARS, NY. Courtesy the Foundation and Hauser & Wirth. Photo: Dan Bradica

over the course of his four-decade career, Kelley worked in a remarkably diverse array of media, conflating so-called high and low culture, critiquing prevailing aesthetic conventions, and combining traditional notions of the sacred and the profane. This exhibition includes paintings created between 1994 and 2009 spotlighting the breadth of the artist’s engagement with the medium of painting

Berlin Isabella Ducrot: Big Aura Capitain Petzel  galleriesnow.net/shows/isabella-ducrot-big-aura/

© the artist and Capitain Petzel, Berlin. Ph: Jens Ziehe

ends this Saturday – in her first solo show at the gallery Ducrot presents a sublime collection of antique textiles originating primarily from India, China, Tibet and Afghanistan, and transformed into objects representing the rhythm of life

Geneva Rosemarie Castoro Mamco galleriesnow.net/shows/rosemarie-castoro-2/

© Annik Wetter–MAMCO Geneva

a major exhibition, organised into chapters to offer a retrospective journey through the practice of an artist who favored transgression and metamorphosis over orthodoxy and linear progression

Reykjavík Charles Atlas: Kiss the Day Goodbye i8 Gallery galleriesnow.net/shows/charles-atlas-kiss-the-day-goodbye/

© Charles Atlas; Courtesy of the artist, Luhring Augustine, New York and i8 Gallery, Reykjavik

a solo exhibition by the pioneering film and video artist – open during the darkest days of winter – a single video work showing a grid of 24 sunsets shot by Atlas at the Rauschenberg Residency in Florida

About Mark Westall

Mark Westall is the Founder and Editor of FAD magazine, ' A curation of the world’s most interesting culture' [PLUS] Art of Conversation: A tri-annual 'no news paper'